Interactive Bar

Google Translate

Google Translate

Google Search

Google Search

Left Bar

Home Link

Ruskington Chestnut

Street CofE

Primary Academy

Care. Believe. Grow

Contact Details

Academy Committee

LAAT Local Governance - Academy Committee


Following a Trust-wide consultation in which proposals were put forward to change the way local governance operates within LAAT, a single model of governance was brought into effect from the 1st September 2022


Ruskington Chestnut Street C of E Primary Academy now operates it governance as an Academy Committee.


The Scheme of Delegation allows the Academy Committee to:

  • help the Board of Directors fulfil its core functions by:
    • Helping shape a vision for the school appropriate to it foundation
    • promoting the academies place in its community
    • helping the Board of Directors have the understanding it needs to improve outcomes for all pupils
    • helping the Board of Directors have the understanding it needs to hold the CEO to account.
  • help the CEO and school leader fulfil their roles by:
    • supporting and challenging the school's senior leader to improve certain aspects of the academy
    • providing external input to processes
    • helping the School's senior leader to understand the local community, including commerce and industry
    • building links with the wider local community including parents
  • looks at the school through the lens of the child:
    • seeking to answer on behalf of the board and executive: "what it is like to attend this School?"


In areas of finance and school standards, the Academy Committee will be aware of the position of the school through the QA reports (6 per year), information from the Headteacher, Signatures of Risk documents (termly) and the annual LAAT meeting.


Academy Committees will not be expected to monitor these as this is done by skilled School Effectiveness Advisers, in conjunction with peer visits.


Chair of the Academy Committee: Gemma Johnson

To get in contact with the Chair of the Academy Committee please use:


For any postal correspondence please use the school's address.

Academy Committee Members


Coulter, RussellFoundation



4 Years



None Declared

Doud, DanHead of School

By virtue of post

01/09/2020N/A None Declared
Goddard, RobEx-OfficioLAAT N/A

Health and Safety


None Declared
Johnson, GemmaCommunityLAAT13/02/20234 YearsChairNone Declared
O'Brien, DanielCommunityLAAT31/01/20234 Years None Declared
Trafford, GeorgeExecutive Headteacher

By virtue of post

01/09/2019N/A None Declared
Hall, RebeccaStaffLAAT02/10/20234 Years None Declared


Four meetings of the Academy Committee are held per year, at which all members attend and have voting rights.  In the case of a split vote the Chair of the Academy Committee will cast the deciding vote. 


Additional committees/working parties will be formed as and when required depending on the needs of the school.  All members attending these additional meetings will have voting rights.

Previous Local Council Members (within last academic year)


Howley, MichaelParentLAAT Appointed04/09/2023
Allcock, AmyParentLAAT Appointed05/07/2023
Baxter, ChristieParentLAAT Appointed31/08/2021
Munton, SaraCommunityLAAT Appointed31/10/2022

Clerk to the Academy Committee


Hannah Creasey



Scrolling Quotes

  • We’re proud of our achievements! Read about them on our website!